CSS Foundations – Background and Borders

And, I am back to the CSS course!
I took a break from it for a while because it is a pretty long course, especially compared to the HTML and Fundamentals of Programming  courses. But, it’s gotta get done before I can go too much further in the track, so I buckled up and got to it.

Today’s deep dive was all about backgrounds and borders. I was already pretty familiar with the basics of CSS background and borders, so I found myself getting a bit bored as those were introduced. By the time I got to Advanced Backgrounds, there was so much information coming at me that my eyes just kind of glazed over. There’s background colors and images, of course. Then there’s size, position, attachment, clip, and some other ones. They have a million and one optional properties that can be written shorthand or have their own lines.
My main criticism about the CSS course is that Guil has a lot of things already on his clipboard which, if you’re trying to follow along by doing it, makes it hard to keep up. I can definitely pause the video, and I have been doing that, but I think after finishing courses that walk you through it, I felt like I was being rushed through the info without really understanding it. And, for all of the things he talked about in the video, the single practice challenge only covered layering of backgrounds.But, I guess some of this is what will come with practice.

Up until now, I never quite got why there are programmers who insist that CSS is not programming. That’s because I always thought of programming as writing code. Technically, that’s true, but it wouldn’t be true the other way around.
All programming is code, but not all code is programming.
What I mean is that although HTML and CSS require coding skills, it lacks the logic and processing behind programming.

Think of makeup. Knowing how to put on makeup on your face doesn’t make you a makeup artist. Knowing how to code doesn’t necessarily make you a programmer either.

 

Next up is Typography which I’m pretty excited about. My knowledge of typography basically extends to “never use Comic Sans if you want to be taken seriously” which, I guess, may be the most important thing.

Leave a Reply

