Onwards and Upwards! : even more jQuery, and introducing AJAX

I have been putting in some serious work this past week.

  • Finished Codecademy’s Build An Interactive Website course.
  • Completed 50% of Code School’s Try jQuery course.
  • Completed 75% of General Assembly’s Dash.
  • Completed HTML Video and Audio and Website Optimization on Team Treehouse.
  • Started AJAX Basics on Team Treehouse.

I’m down to about 3 courses to go in the Front End Web Development Track on Team Treehouse. Next up: AJAX.

I’ve always seen the term AJAX floating around, but never really knew what it was. Turns out, it’s what makes sites like Google Maps update instantly.

“AJAX isn’t that hard,” Dave, the instructor for this course, says.

“HA, yeah, OK,” I thought in response as I followed along with the videos.

AJAX is intimidating. At least, that’s how I feel after completing the first of the 4 part series.  But I’m no punk and I’m not going to let fear stop my progress. I’m going to bulldoze right through that AJAX course. I could come out of it absolutely hating AJAX and vowing to never use it, or I could come out loving it like I did with jQuery.

Next up, “Programming with AJAX” where I’ll be building a widget that keeps track of employee statuses!

Leave a Reply

