Bonfire + Comparing Myself To Others

I have made it to Free Code Camp’s Algorithm Practice challenges, cleverly titled ‘Bonfire!’

The first Bonfire challenge is to reverse a string. Simple enough.

Then I realized that I couldn’t solve it instantly and found myself thinking “this is so easy. You should know this by now!”

Counting the time I spent pursuing my degreee in CS, I’ve been learning to program for about 5 years now. And it’s still hard to me!  I watched my classmates seem to make it through classes with ease, while I struggled the entire time (sometimes to the point of tears). I think that’s why I am still very hesitant about pair programming, which Free Code Camp highly encourages. My professors required encouraged it too. But I always hated pairing up with someone because I always felt like the weak link. It seemed like no matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t keep up with everyone else.

And, now, I watch how other Code Newbies go from 0 former knowledge to full stack developers in less than a year! While stories like that helped inspire me to pursue (re-pursue?) web development, I also find myself discouraged at times. Part of why I got burned out before was that I was trying to “keep up” with the progress I saw others making.

Maybe I should know how to reverse a string off the top of my head. But I don’t. My choices were to either quit or to find myself a solution. Only one of those choices would get me where I want to be so, I bulldozed my way out of negative thought zone, and found myself in JavaScript documentation, trying to figure out what the hell I was doing.

It actually didn’t take long for me to research and come up with a solution. A PASSING solution. And now, I don’t know why I was so hard on myself to begin with. Not all solutions will come to me as quickly and I’ll probably definitely find myself frustrated plenty of times with future challenges, but I will get through them. With plenty of help.

Leave a Reply

