Free Code Camp – Local Weather App (FINISHED!)

I guess doing something new really was the way to kick myself into gear. A few days later and I have successfully fufilled all user stories for this project on Free Code Camp.

  1. User Story: I can see the weather in my current location.
    When you load the app, it will request that you share your location. If you hit “Allow,” it will display your current city/town and the weather there. If you deny, it should throw an error at you.
    I do this by using

    navigator.geolocation.getCurrentPosition

    to send a notification to the user that requests the location. Then, there’s an AJAX function that takes in the coordinates from the navigator, returns the weather for those coordinates (in Fahrenheit), the weather conditions. It also converts those coordinates to a city and state, and displays those on the page.

  • User Story: I can see a different icon or background image (e.g. snowy mountain, hot desert) depending on the weather. 
    I used this icon set by Erik Flowers and Lukas Bischoff. to display icons that match the current weather conditions. When I first started coding, the weather here in Austin was consistently ‘clear’ so I had no idea if it actually worked well. Then, when I took the screenshot, I noticed it had changed to “Partly Cloudy.” Yay!
    They have nice functionality that works with the Weather Underground API, and some other popular APIs as well.
  • User Story: I can push a button to toggle between Fahrenheit and Celsius.
    When you hover over the temperature, the cursor will change to indicate that it is clickable. When you click it, it toggle between Celcius and Fahrenheit.

And, now, I have a functioning weather app! And I never would have gotten it done if I hadn’t been willing to shift my focus elsewhere for some time.

I noticed when I went for my screenshot that it displays the weather in decimals, which I don’t typically see (or look for) in weather apps. I am considering adding some code to round that number to the nearest whole number.

Screenshot 2016-02-29 23.14.10 (2)

Leave a Reply

