Quick Update

I have been committed to other interests and needs for a while, not dedicating as much time to coding as I had in the past. I’m sure anyone reading this can relate to having responsibilities and interests and trying to make time for them all. And, if you’re like me and sometimes go into all-or-nothing territory, you go hard for as long as you can before you burnout just as hard. Yikes.

I’ve talked about this before on this blog- how my perfectionism is sometimes a curse more than a blessing. I like to do well and I like to do everything right the first time. But, sometimes, I have to remind myself that a little bit is better than nothing and that done is better than not starting. In addition to the fact that I don’t have to do everything all at once. That being said, while I have not blogged very frequently, I have been at work.

I recently completed my Wikipedia Viewer. I attended the 2nd Diversity Hackathon hosted by Women Who Code Austin. I’ve been visiting online courses and tutorials here and there. I’ve even been working on updating my GitHub hosted portfolio (and the url: ceritakelly.com).

Project-based AngularJS and NodeJS courses are next on my list, in addition to completing more Free Code Camp projects and scripting challenges.

Regarding my current day job, I have been spending time reintroducing myself to databases. I am a quarter of the way through a course on Microsoft Access training, just about to start on queries and SQL. It was one of my least favorite subjects in undergrad if I’m being completely honest, but having had the foundation to begin with is helping me pick it back up probably quicker than I would have otherwise.

 

 

Leave a Reply

